Supporting public involvement
in NHS, public health and
social care research

NSH National Institute for Health Research

View site in larger text




The members of the main Group of INVOLVE are appointed by the Director of Research, at the Department of Health. We publicly advertise for new members for our working groups every two to three years. You can find out more about INVOLVE membership in the Members Information Pack


Chair: Simon Denegri, Chief Executive, Ovarian Cancer Action

INVOLVE Working Groups:



Ade Adebajo, Consultant Physician in Rheumatology, Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Rosemary Barber, Consultant Clinical Psychologist/Honorary Senior Research Fellow, Sheffield Care Trust/University of Sheffield

Ann-Louise Caress, Consultant Clinical Psychologist/Honorary Senior Research Fellow, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, The University of Manchester

David Evans, Professor in Health Services Research (Public Involvement), University West of England, Bristol

John Hughes, Lay Member

Hugh McLaughlin, Director of Social Work and Social Policy, University of Salford

   Patsy Staddon, Survivor Researcher, University of Plymouth,

Evidence, Knowledge and Learning:


Louca-Mai Brady, Independent Researcher

Jim Elliott, Independent Consultant

Alison Faulkner, Independent Survivor Consultant

Ray Fitzpatrick, Professor of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Oxford

Vanessa Pinfold, Head of Research and Policy, Rethink

Diana Rose, Co-Director Service User Research Enterprise, Institute of Psychiatry, Kings College London

Tony Sargeant, Service User contributing to public involvement in research

Sophie Staniszewska, Senior Research Fellow, Royal College of Nursing Institute

Tracey Williamson, Research Fellow, University of Salford

Strategic Alliances:


Richard Baker, Head of Department & Professor of Quality in Health Care, Department of Health Sciences, University of Leicester

Sue Banton, Director, STEPS, Association for People with Lower Limb Abnormalities

Stuart Eglin, Director of Research and Development , NHS North West

Poonam Jain, Researcher

Maria Palmer, Director of Research and Development, United Bristol NHS Health Care Trust

Mark Petticrew, Chair in Public Health Evaluation, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Laura Serrant Green, Director of Research and Enterprise Centre for Health and Social Care Improvement, University of Wolverhampton

Christine Vial, Service User and Carer


Medical Research Council - vacant

Kay Pattison, Department of Health Research and Development Directorate

Roger Steel , UK Clinical Research Network

Tony Williams , Department of Health Research and Development Directorate

Top of Page

Last Updated 31/08/2011 14:12:39
Bobby WorldWide Approved AAA Copyright © 2004 INVOLVE. All Rights Reserved.
Use of this site indicates you accept the Terms of Use & Privacy Statement